Harris Center News

Science and Stewardship at Otter Brook Farm

In early June, 8th graders from Great Brook and South Meadow Schools came together for a morning of service learning.

Junior Solar Sprint a Solar-Powered Success!

Last week, over 100 students from six area schools gathered in Peterborough for the 6th Annual Monadnock Regional Junior Solar Sprint.

Announcing the Meade Cadot Land Conservation Fund

The Meade Cadot Land Conservation Fund will honor Meade by permanently enhancing the Harris Center’s ability to protect and steward land.

Three Cheers for the Educators of the Year!

Emily Wrubel and Stacy Egan, 8th grade science teachers in the ConVal school district, have been named the 2013 New Hampshire Environmental Educators of the Year.

Celebrating Meade Cadot

Friends, family members, former students, and colleagues gathered to celebrate Meade Cadot as he retires from his role as Land Director and Senior Naturalist for the Harris Center.

Keene Teachers Celebrated at 2012 Annual Meeting

Andrea Dube and Gail Woolridge were honored for their collaboration on a Birds Across the Seasons curriculum for 3rd graders.

Field Report from the 2012 Vernal Pool Project

This was the Vernal Pool Project’s inaugural year in Peterborough, where 20 enthusiastic citizen scientists visited 50 potential vernal pools.

A Packed House for Bear Expert Ben Kilham

Bear expert Ben Kilham spoke to a rapt audience of 160+ Harris Center members at our annual members-only event.

Successful Nighthawk Nest Confirmed at KSC

This is the first confirmation of a nighthawk nest in Keene since at least 2007.

Harris Center in the News

The Harris Center was featured in regional, state and even national media this summer.

Salamander Brigade Essay Wins Writing Award

Longtime Salamander Crossing Brigade volunteer Emily Wilson won an award for her essay, “Goldenrod Spots.”

Brett Amy Thelen Receives Environmental Excellence Award

Brett Amy Thelen has received Antioch University New England’s 2012 Alumni Environmental Excellence Award.